24 - 25 November 2015

The 13th Convention of GRK 1464 was held in Paderborn, organized by Katharina Brassat and Thorsten Meyers.

13 – 18 September 2015

Markus Wahle (Department of Chemistry, Paderborn) Received a best presentation award at the Optics of Liquid Crystals Conference (OLC '15) for his talk entitled "Electrically tuneable waveguide properties in hybrid guiding liquid crystal photonic crystal fibers".

Paderborn, April 13th-16th, 2015: 4th Europhotonics Spring School

Paderborn, December 8th-9th, 2014: 11th Graduate Convention

Paderborn, September 9th, 2014: Zonta Club Paderborn Award


Dr. Olga Kasdorf is awarded the Zonta Club Paderborn Award 2014 as a highlight of the annual PACE Ceremony.

Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Schäfer (chair of PACE) and Bärbel Meerkötter (president of the Zonta Club Paderborn) award the Zonta Club Paderborn Award 2014 to Dr. Olga Kasdorf. (Photo: PACE)


Dublin, July 2nd, 2014: Martin Urbanski receives the Glenn-H.-Brown-Prize


At the 25th International Liquid Crystal Conference 2014, Dublin, Ireland, Dr. Martin Urbanski receives the Glenn Brown Prize 2014 awarded by the International Liquid Crystal Society.

Prof. Dr. Claudio Zannoni, President of the International Liquid Crystal Society hands out the Glenn Brown Prize to Dr. Martin Urbanski. (Photo: Kitzerow)


Île de Porquerolles (France), March 31st – April 4th, 2014:

                 3rd Europhotonics Spring School,

      (10th Convention of the Research Training Group)



January 19, 2014: Prize of the Presidium

At the New Year Reception 2014 Dr. Martin Urbanski received one of four prizes of the presidium of the University of Paderborn for an outstanding PhD-thesis submitted in 2013.

Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Schäfer (frtl) congratulates Dr. Cornelia Wächter, Dr. Christian Ikenmeyer, Dr. Martin Urbanski and Dr. Philipp Heitmann on their outstanding PhD theses. (Photo: Vanessa Dreibrodt)

November 25-26, 2013: 9th Convention of the Research Training Group in Paderborn


November 15, 2013: Publication in Nature

H. Mühlenbernd and Prof. Zentgraf authored a publication in Nature Communications:

L. Huang, X. Chen, H. Mühlenbernd, H. Zhang, S. Chen, B. Bai, Q. Tan, G. Jin, K.-W. Cheah, C.-W. Qiu, J. Li, T. Zentgraf and S. Zhang "Three-dimensional optical holography using a plasmonic metasurface" Nature Communications 4, 2808 (2013).


Durham (UK) September 13, 2013:Best Poster Award on Scientific Conference

At the 15th International Conference on Density Functional Theory and its Applications,
Durham, UK,
Christian Wiebeler is awarded with the Best Poster Award.


Prof. Dr. David. J. Tozer, Organizer of the DFT 2013 Conference, handing out the Poster Award to Christian Wiebeler (Photo: DFT2013)

June 2013: „Tenure"

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Jens Förstner,

former head of the DFG Emmy Noether junior research group on "Computational Nanophotonics" in the Department of Physics and GRK-project leader,

accepted in June 2013 the position of a
full Professor of Theoretical Electrical Engineering
at the University of Paderborn

April 2013: 2nd Europhotonics Spring School

April 8th – 10th, 2013: 2nd Europhotonics Spring School in Hohenwart Forum close to Pforzheim (Black Forest, Germany). (8th Convention of the Research Training Group)

March 2013: „Young Scientist Award 2013"

March 22nd, 2013: 

Topical Meeting on Liquid Crystals:

Dr. Martin Urbanski receives the

"Young Scientists Award"

of the

German Liquid Crystal Society

March 2013: „40th Topical Meeting on Liquid Crystals" in Paderborn

The 40th Topical Meeting on Liquid Crystals of the research training group took place in Paderborn from March 20th - 22nd, 2013.

December 2012: PACE-prize "Best Presentation Award"

On December 7th, 2012 Stephan Krapick receives the “Best presentation award” of the year 2012
awarded by the PACE-Paderborn Institute of Advanced Studies in Computer Science and Engineering.

fltr: Prof. Dr. Schäfer, Marie-Christin Platenius (SFB 901)
Ekaterina Kaganova (IGS), Stephan Krapick (CeOPP GK),
Prof. Dr. Eckhard Steffen (Foto: M. Decking)


December 4, 2012: 7th Convention of the Research Training Group in Paderborn


May 2012: DFG confirms funding of GRK1464 for further 4,5 years

On March 9th, the on-site review of the graduate programm was held in Paderborn. In May 2012, DFG has decided that financial funding of the doctoral research training group GRK1464 "Micro-and Nanostructures in Optoelectronics and Photonics" will be continued until spring 2017.

November 2011: „Best presentation award“

The winner of the PACE-prize “Best presentation award” of the year 2011 is Dr. Stefan Declair. The laudation takes place at the “Fakultätsfeier der Fakultät für Naturwissenschaften“ (26.11.2011).

July 2011: „5th GRK meeting in Paderborn”

The 5th convention of the research training group tooks place in Paderborn organized by the PhD-students Martin Kim and Martin Urbanski. (05.-06.07.2011)

November 2010: „4th GRK meeting in Darmstadt”

The 4th external meeting of the GRK was combined with a visit at the chemical company Merck, Damstadt (18.-19.11.2011). It was planned by Martin Kim and Martin Urbanski.

Mai 2010: „3rd GRK meeting in Paderborn“

The 3rd meeting was held at the University of Paderborn. The organizers were Christoph Claßen and Torsten Frers. (27.-28.05.2010)

November 2009

2nd GRK Convention (Bad Karlshafen), organized by Olga Kasdorf and Marc Zöller:    The forthcoming convention will be held on 26th and 27th November 2009 in Hotel Zum Schwan, Bad Karlshafen at the Weser river.

May 2009

1st GRK Convention (Schloss Gehrden), organized by Marc Zöller and Frank Bayer (lower pictures)

February 2009

Mrs. Marina Panfilova receives the Best Presentation Award 2008

Dr. Anna Grodecka receives the Zonta Prize

November 2008

Opening Ceremony of the Graduate Program

May 2008

First meeting of Ph. D. students of the Graduate Program.

April 2008

Start of the Graduate Program.

Imprint | Webmaster | Recent changes: 17.12.2015